Stacked Birdies

20111023-150212.jpg

I just finished hand-sewing the binding on my stacked coin quilt. I’ve wanted to make one of these ever since I started quilting two years ago, and I’m pleased that I finally got around to it.

20111023-150204.jpg

I love the simplicity and the way the colors of the fabric pop on the white. I used a jelly roll to make the top, doing some simple math and using the pattern on moda bake shop. It took me a while to decide how I wanted to quilt it, but after doing a google search of others’ stacked coin quilts and seeing this one, I knew I wanted to do straight lines.

20111023-150112.jpg

The back is just a simple single piece of a coordinating fabric.

20111023-150050.jpg

I love the look of the birch trees along the binding.

20111023-150105.jpg

Tomorrow this baby will be making its way to the Midwest to wrap up a new baby. We don’t know if it will be a boy or a girl, but I think it’s perfect either way.

One response to “Stacked Birdies

Leave a Reply

