iPad case

It took a while, but I finally made a case for my bfs iPad 2. I let him pick out the fabric and endeavored to find a tutorial or pattern online that would suit his specifications. I follow a few dozen blogs of other folks who are handy with a sewing machine, but I couldn’t find one that was quite right. There¬†was a request for simplicity (no quilting, no piecing, no ribbons/bows/ties). In the end, I created my own pattern by looking at the process that others used.

20111026-165436.jpg

This is the end result.

Essentially I made one big piece of double-sided fabric with batting in the middle, folded it in half, and stitched it together.

20111113-125919.jpg

Here’s the gist:

1. Figure out measurements. The iPad measures 9.5″ x 7.5″, so I figured I wanted my big double-sided piece to be 21″ x 9″ before folding. I added 3″ to the ¬†total length for a flap. I cut two pieces of batting and both pieces of fabric 24″ x 9″. In hindsight, I should have been a little less lazy with my measuring because it’s quite a snug fit. I’d recommend cutting everything 24.5″ x 9.5″.

20111113-132658.jpg

2. Cut the corners on the flap on all 4 pieces. I originally planned a half circle and would have used a plate or bowl, but decided to go with straight corners instead.

3. Layer the pieces: two fabrics right side together with two pieces of batting on top (From bottom to top: fabric face up, fabric face down, batting, batting)

4. Pin around the entire pieces, leaving a gap at the bottom (non-flap side) where you will turn it.

5. Sew around the entire thing with a 1/4″ seam, starting at one side of the gap at the bottom and ending on the other side.

6. Clip corners to reduce bulk. If you have a curved seam, notch little triangles out.

7. Press seam allowance at opening and turn right side out.

8. Press seams. Use two parallel lines (1/4″ and 1/8″) to stitch together the bottom straight edge. I had a bit of trouble with the bulk of the batting and had to trim it in order to fold the fabric under correctly/neatly. Perhaps I should have cut the batting 1/4″ shorter from the start. If I make another one, I’ll let you know.

9. Fold up the bottom edge and pin in place, leaving enough room for a flap, but making sure your iPad will fit inside. Stitch all around the outside edge 1/4″ from edge, including the flap. I stitched across the bottom too, but you wouldn’t need to.

Leave a Reply

