home…

Home is supposedly where the heart is, but since I’ve come home I don’t find much truth in that statement. My heart is with my family, where I find myself now, but I’ve never felt so home-less in my life, even when I was wandering through distant countries with no permanent bed and living out of a suitcase. I suppose then I didn’t expect it to feel like home and so I wasn’t upset by the discrepancy between expectation and reality. It got me wondering what other people have said about the subject of “home” and my search has led me to Maya Angelou, who said:

“I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself.” &

“The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned.”

These ring far more true, and make me think I should read more of her work, which I will, immediately (seeing as I’m already at the library). Perhaps I’ll find comfort in what she has to say during this time when I’m trying to decide where to make my next ‘home’.

Interestingly enough, I also came across this quote by Ronald Reagan that made me let out a little chuckle. Having been in Vietnam recently I suppose I’m a bit cynical.

“We should declare war on North Vietnam. We could pave the whole country and put parking strips on it, and still be home by Christmas. “

2 responses to “home…

  1. I felt the same way when I got home. I think it was partly because we weren’t used to the cold and not being able to just leave or go for a walk, like we did in Asia.

Leave a Reply

