Project updates

Wow, it’s been quite a while since my last post! I’ve been busy creating things and applying for jobs (and going to interviews!). I thought I’d do a quick update on my projects and post some photos of what I’ve been up to and what I’ve got planned for the future. Crafts first because they’re more fun!

My first quilt….

I’ve finished all of the piecing for the top of my rail fence quilt and have pinned all the layers together, with some lovely cotton batting in the middle and a cool vintage sheet as the back.

photo by biggirllittlegirl

The whole thing seems a bit tooooo pink for my liking at this point, but I think I like it and now that I’ve got it all tacked together I’m committed (ie. too lazy to un-pin and re-pin something else). Besides, I want to use my cool pink sheet for something and I don’t use sheets now that I’ve moved onto the wonderful world of duvets in covers.

The next step is actually “quilting”, or sewing all the layers together and I’m wanting to try free motion quilting, where you move the quilt around with your hands, leaving a little swirly design as you go. I’m pretty intimidated by this step, so much so that I’ve started other projects instead. I keep pretending it’s so I can practice on something smaller and less meaningful, but then I wuss out on those too because I don’t want to ruin them either. I’ll get there eventually.

Next up…

So, after I finished my first quilt I had lots of little bits left over and I decided to rip them all apart and use the strips to make another quilt, incorporating some solid chocolate brown stripes. Seam ripping is fun (no it’s not!).

I’m following yet another tutorial, this one at http://www.ohfransson.com. I haven’t decided exactly what my squares will look like yet, but I’ll be sure to tell you when I do. Feel free to make suggestions! It’ll be something like this…

Wonky Log Cabin quilt

I love this quilt because you almost can’t mess it up, or at least you can’t tell πŸ™‚ The wonky-ness means you don’t have to cut and sew everything perfect, as long as you trim the squares all down to the same size afterwards. The hardest part was arranging the squares so that there weren’t two of the same pattern next to each other.

This is the back - see all the stars!

I used a tutorial at http://www.quiltdad.com – you can too!

photo and quilting by biggirllittlegirl

After a brief and frightening attempt at free motion quilting, I decided to hand quilt stars all over. I’m pretty happy with the results πŸ™‚ All I have left is the binding… the thing I’m second most scared of.

Nearly finished!

You can really see the stars on the back!

Plaid Giraffe Quilt

Every year the quilting guild sells yard square quilts (that means they’re 3ft x 3ft) Memorial Day weekend in downtown Berkeley Springs and donates all of the money to a local charity. Looking over the quilts they made last year, which were beautiful, it seemed like they were missing some child-friendly quilts, so Hannah and I decided to theme one around a giraffe and acacia tree motif. Here was our design brainstorming sheet:

We (I) also wanted to try making different kinds of blocks, so we ended up with a number of plaid blocks that we’ll place around the giraffe and tree.

fabric and some finished blocks

Now to put it all together!


Kitty Pin Cushion!

It didn’t take long to realize that leaving pins and needles all over the place was a dangerous idea, so I made this kitty to hold on to them for me.

Cat pin cushion

I had this brilliant idea after I thought I lost a pin and my aunt and mom went nuts trying to find it. Apparently they were traumatized as children by my nana. We never found the pin, maybe it was never lost to begin with, but either way I’ve got somewhere to keep them now!


Hmmm. I’m not feeling like talking about jobs right now because I’m in too good of a mood after reviewing all of my craft accomplishments. I think I’ll save that for tomorrow!
Days of yoga 1 for 1.

5 responses to “Project updates

  1. Love your color choices;) Keep up the good work;) That kitty pincushion….did you design that yourself????
    Happy Quilting!!!

  2. Hey thanks! So far all of the quilts I’ve made are from fabric I’ve been collecting (but not using) over the past 10 years. I didn’t buy any of them as a group so deciding which pieces to put together has been a challenge at times.

    I found a pattern for the kitty on another blog, Wee Wonderfuls, and used felt instead of cotton for the body. http://weewonderfuls.typepad.com/

  3. Whoa, so many gorgeous quilts! Let see, you should chekc our leah days’ 356 days of fm’ing, its a site with lots of great tips and patterns to use- it helped me feel more confident to try free motioning! Ilove the stars that you hand quilted, I think I need to give handquilting a try too!

  4. I do like the way your quilts have turned out and it was fun watching you hand quilt those stars. Even though sometimes i felt the risk of you poking my eye out.

  5. wow this was sooo long ago. You have made a bunch more quilts and they are all really good! (i loved the acasia tree quilt and pengie)

Leave a Reply

