Ready to Gossip

I’ve made another attempt at refurbishing furniture! My mom gave me this gossip bench when I moved out of the house and into my first apartment, but she says I claimed it earlier than that.

 

I love the shape and the little cubby meant for the phone books. I’ve always planned to fix it up a bit, but never got around to it. For the last two years it’s been hanging out in my aunt’s garage, where a family of mice ripped out the old horse hair stuffing and made themselves a nice little home in another of my boxes.

 

It seemed like a good time to recover the seat.

 

Check out a close up of the old cushion- yuck!

 

 

And look at it now! I love the geometric blue and white fabric that I found at JoAnn’s for $2/yd, and the mayo rub seems to have really revived the wood. Who knew mayonaise had so many uses!

 

 

Next I’ll be tackling my bicycle! My red Schwinn has been living out in the rain and snow for 8-9 years and could definitely use a little love.

4 responses to “Ready to Gossip

  1. I think it looks great! Love the mayo idea and sorry I didn’t help out when you asked. I really wish I had so I could learn hown to recover something.

Leave a Reply

