Black Mountain Bluegrass Boys

(insert beautiful, inspiring quote about bluegrass here…

 oh wait, there aren’t any. I guess the music just speaks for itself!)

 

 

 

 

I have recently discovered that I have a fondness for bluegrass music, and fortunately I’ll be spending the next year in West Virginia so it won’t be in short supply. This is kind of like the time I conveniently fell in love with stained glass church windows shortly before visiting Paris. It was meant to be.

 

 

One of my local favorites are the Black Mountain Bluegrass Boys, who recently played at Ivy Terrace, the free concert series presented by Carnegie Hall on their lawn. It was my first time at Ivy Terrace and I’d heard a rumor that everyone usually brought a big picnic and blankets so I whipped up some mid-west picnic classics to share with my fellow VISTAs – potato salad, pasta salad, and guacamole (ok, not a mid-west thing, the avacados just looked good at the store). I threw in a few more random things, Kelly brought cookies, Emily brought a watermelon and by the time we all got together we had quite the spread!

 

Jerry was very excited and surprisingly impressed by all of the food (or maybe he was just in a good mood because of the spiked lemonade) 

  

  

 

After the show I talked to the band a bit to tell them I appreciated their music and to ask when they’d be playing next, but they didn’t have any schedules with them and being good old fashioned old timey musicians they don’t have a facebook page, but you can listen to a few of their songs on myspace: http://www.myspace.com/blackmountainbluegrassboys  Their next show is on Thursday, July 15th and The Irish Pub in downtown Lewisburg, or November 6th at the Pocohontas County Opera House, though I’m sure there are more dates in between.

 

 

 

3 responses to “Black Mountain Bluegrass Boys

  1. I must check this out. Maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about when I say I don’t like it.

  2. Whats up very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to search out so many useful information right here in the publish, we’d like work out extra techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

