As it turns out…

As it turns out, I like some poetry. All these years I thought it was boring and dry and confusing and pointless!  Today I started reading some Ezra Pound as part of a little project for a friend (I’d previously rolled my eyes at Mr. Pound, simply because it was poetry and because I wanted to annoy Jerry).  It turns out I feel a little something stirring inside me when I read some of his work (don’t tell Jerry!). Some of it is still too long and boring, but hey, baby steps.

 

The Plunge by Ezra Pound
I would bathe myself in strangeness:
These comforts heaped upon me, smother me!
I burn, I scald so for the new,
New friends, new faces,
Places!
Oh to be out of this,
This that is all I wanted
– save the new.

And you,
Love, you the much, the more desired!
Do I not loathe all walls, streets, stones,
All mire, mist, all fog,
All ways of traffic?
You, I wold have flow over me like water,
Oh, but far out of this!
Grass, and low fields, and hills,
And sun,
Oh, sun enough!
Out, and alone, among some
Alien people!

2 responses to “As it turns out…

  1. hmmmm I liked it! I may need to analize it a bit more but it was fun to read to hannah in a dramatic voice =P

Leave a Reply

