Would you like fries with that?

Yesterday I was craving a Whopper Jr and since I found myself running late, hungry, and with exactly $2.17 in change in my car, I decided to hit the Burger King drive thru.

I was greated with the standard, “Welcome to Burger King, may I take your order?” spoken by what sounded like a somewhat sleepy teenage girl. I proceded to order my standard Whopper Jr. with no onions, extra pickles. To my surprise, the next voice that told me my total and to pull around to the first window was a much older, weary voice, obviously of native West Virginian heritage.

Now, I tend not to eat very much fast food, but I had  noticed that McDonalds has started using a chipper young voice to ask you if you’d like to try the latest and greatest gigantic burger slathered in blue cheese and bacon and blah blah blah. I get that it’s important to have a standardized message, that people sometimes forget to offer the special new flavor of the month, and that sometimes people who work at fast food drive thru windows are sometimes less than enthusiastic about their jobs, and lacking in the ability to enunciate.

What I don’t understand is why Burger King has chosen this particular voice to represent their brand. She didn’t sound especially… special

I can only guess that they were trying to go for a more natural, realistic feel, or perhaps the female voice belongs to someone’s best friend’s daughter. Either way, the lackadaisical effort makes it seems like the use of technology for technology’s sake. Something I’ve been quite familiar with these past few months.

One response to “Would you like fries with that?

  1. hmmmmm, I wonder who that girls is. All I know is that mom always trys to give her our order, only to be interupted by the actual person.

Leave a Reply

