Master Cleanse

Yesterday I started the Master Cleanse. You know, the one where you just drink “lemonade” for 10 days in order to detox you body and break bad food habits? If you’re not familiar, you can read more about it at http://www.themastercleanse.org, or just google it. There are many reasons for doing the Cleanse: weight loss, removing toxins from your body, eliminating *gross alert* build-up of waste, becoming more mindful about your eating habits, transitioning to a healthier lifestyle, etc.

I guess the reason I’m doing it is a combination of the above, plus I know I have a major sugar habit and too much acid in my body (the two go hand in hand). Many people who have done the Cleanse claim that they felt fewer sugar cravings, and that that ph balance of their blood became more basic. Eating less sugar and reducing the acidity of my blood is something I’ve been wanting to change for a long time. I know  that doing a “diet” of sorts for 10 days isn’t going to change my lifestyle unless I decide to make the changes more permanent, but I’m hoping this will be a catalyst. Many say it puts them in the right mind-frame for change. I also know that it takes 3 weeks to form a habit, so this will only get me halfway there, but it’s a start.

A few months ago I found out that I had H.Pylori, a bacteria that burrows into the lining of your stomach and esophagus and makes your body create more acid. This was causing major nausea that made it impossible for me to function some days. I took freakish quantities of antibiotics and it’s gone now, and I am taking Nexium to reduce the amount of acid my body produces, but there are still days when I feel very sick if I don’t eat something.  Because of this, I’m going to allow myself to eat a bit of easily digestible food, especially at the beginning.

I’ve also heard that it’s good to do some exercise while you are on the Cleanse, and that it actually gives you MORE energy than you typically have. I’m not going to do the Insanity workout, but I thought it might be a good time to start doing yoga. There’s a studio just two or three blocks from the apartment so I signed up for a class last night and I really enjoyed it. I’m going to buy a pass for 10 classes and a mat so I can practice at home as well.

Despite the criticisms and potential negatives, I’ve decided to give it a try, and I’m going to try to be mindful and write about my experiences here. It might be a little boring, so I apologize in advance, but this is for me.

Yesterday I felt nauseous, but the banana chips and green smoothie helped. I felt really tired and hot after the gardening, but I made myself go to yoga anyway, and am really glad I did. I felt amazing during and after. All of the tension in my back was released, and I discovered that I have a problem with one of my shoulders that I need to stretch. I’m looking forward to the foot class next Tuesday, and the Body Rolling class on Thursday next week.

Day 1 stats:

* walked 1 hour with Barley

* Yoga for 1.5 hours

* 2 hours in the garden at Joshua Farm- intense hoeing and weeding, 98 degrees out

* 3 glasses of lemonade

* 2 glasses of water

* small handful of dried banana chips

* three glasses of green smoothie

* 1 glass Tea

Leave a Reply

