Shrimp Rolls

20110911-110139.jpg

Every once in a while I impress myself in the kitchen. This was one of those times. This meal took all of 20 minutes and had me saying “WOW!” over and over again. It was so good that I wanted to eat it again for lunch and dinner the next day, but that seemed a bit excessive. Plus, I was too lazy to grill the shrimp and Chris wasn’t home. The best part about this meal is that it’s flexible. Start with the basic recipe and then add and subtract ingredients according to taste. We didn’t have capers (and they kind of creep me out for some reason) so I omitted them. The original recipe called for 1 zucchini, but I wanted more, so I used two. I don’t like onion, so I halved the amount. Also, I forgot the tomatoes. I’m surrounded by tomatoes, but I forgot them. Like I said, it’s flexible.

20110911-110132.jpg

Adapted from Rachel Ray’s recipe for New England Shrimp and Lobster Lettuce Rolls from 30-Minute Get Real Meals

Shrimp Rolls

1/2 lb peeled and deveined shrimp (we used pre-cooked frozen, but raw is probably better)

1-2 medium zucchini/summer squash, sliced lengthwise into long 1/4″-1/2″ thick slices

*Drizzle these with olive oil and salt and pepper, then grill for 2 min on each side.

Tartar Sauce:

1-2 celery sticks, finely chopped

juice of 1 lemon

1/2 – 3/4 cup mayo (just eyeball it)

1/4-1/2 small yellow onion, grated

Several dashes of hot sauce (if you like)

1 large dill pickle, finely chopped (I used the refrigerator pickles I made myself)

2 T/3 sprigs fresh or 1 T dried tarragon

1 handful fresh parsley, chopped

handful of grape tomatoes, halved (unless you forget them)

S&P

*While your shrimp and zucchini are cooling, combine the tartar sauce ingredients. I recommend adding the lemon juice last, as you stir, to get the consistency you want. I must have had a really juicy lemon because I had to add a lot of mayo to thicken it up.  Let the flavors meld for a few minutes while you chop up the shrimp and zucchini into bite-sized pieces. Then toss it all together and pile on toasted kaiser buns (or roll up in Boston or Bibb lettuce, if you’re avoiding carbs).

One response to “Shrimp Rolls

Leave a Reply

